Family owned, windjammer wins Coaster Cup in Maine’s 37th Annual Great Schooner Race

Photos and article by Morgan Rogers - July 17th, 2013 

The windjammer Stephan Taber, a US National Historic Landmark in Rockland and family owned Maine schooner, took first place in its class, winning the Coaster Cup in the 37th Annual Great Schooner Race on July 5, 2013 at Penobscot Bay.

The annual race put on by The Maine Windjammer Association included 17 historic schooners, hosted by 500 guests, with almost a thousand spectators in attendance. The Mary Day schooner secured first place in the “over all” category with the Cutty Sark Award. 

“We were last coming out by the first mark and we were first across the finish line. It was a lot of fun,” said Captain Noah Barnes of the Stephen Taber.

Downstairs in the cabin of the windjammer Stephen Taber. photo by Morgan Rogers

Barnes has been sailing and racing the Stephen Taber schooner for 10 years. “My parents bought the boat when I was 6. I have grown up on the Stephen Taber and I was here till I graduated high school and then I left for a number of years. I came back when my parents retired,” said Barnes. 

The Stephen Taber is a two-masted schooner that was originally launched in 1871 and became a National Historic Landmark in 1992. 

Barnes works and races the schooner year around. He said he looks forward to participating again next year. 

The Maine Windjammer Association has been hosting the Great Schooner Race every summer since 1977, giving traditional vessels an opportunity to meet and race over the Eastern Seaboard. It is said to be the largest annual gathering of traditional schooners in the United States, according to The Maine Windjammer Association. 

“This year’s event lived up to its name—it was a truly Great Schooner Race! We had a strong turnout of vessels, perfect weather and guests, crews and spectators had a ton of fun,” said Meg Maiden, Marketing Director of the Maine Windjammer Association.

For more information on The Great Schooner Race and a list of the winners in their respective categories, please visit .