< Back to all posts
  • Maine Senate Overwhelmingly Confirms Governor Mills’ Cabinet Nominees


    On January 31,2019 the Maine Senate overwhelmingly confirmed nine of Governor Janet Mills’ cabinet nominees, including the Commissioners of the Departments of Administrative and Financial Services, Transportation, Labor, Economic and Community Development, Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, Marine Resources, Environmental Protection, and Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management, as well as the head of the Workers’ Compensation Board.

    “I am pleased the Senate has confirmed these highly qualified, respected, and experienced individuals so they can begin their work immediately on behalf of the people of Maine. I look forward to working with the Legislature to confirm the rest of my cabinet so we can continue charting a new, and better path forward for our state," said Governor Mills.

    The Maine Senate confirmed the following nominees on January 31,2019, who all had earned unanimous committee votes earlier this week:

    • Kirsten Figueroa, Department of Administrative and Financial Services
    • Bruce Van Note, Department of Transportation
    • Laura Fortman, Department of Labor
    • Heather Johnson, Department of Economic and Community Development
    • Judith Camuso, Department of Inland, Fisheries and Wildlife
    • Gerald Reid, Department of Environmental Protection
    • Patrick Keliher, Department of Marine Resources
    • Major Douglas Farnham, Department of Defense, Veterans and Emergency Management
    • John Rohde, Workers’ Compensation Board

    Five of Governor Mills’ remaining nominees, including Jeanne Lambrew, Department of Health and Human Services; Pender Makin, Department of Education; Anne Head, Department of Professional and Financial Regulation; Randall Liberty, Department of Corrections, and Mike Sauschuck, Department of Public Safety will appear before the relevant committees for their confirmation hearings today and tomorrow.

    The committee confirmation hearing for Amanda Beal, Governor Mills’ nominee for the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry will be held February 14th at 1:00 PM before the Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry Joint Standing Committee in Cross Building, Room 214.